Snow, Sweat, and SUPER BOWL

We woke this morning to a glorious sight.

DSC01119 DSC01116

Everything was covered in a white blanket of snow.  Icicles hung from the eaves of every building, and tree branches hung low, bowing under the weight of the freshly fallen snow and ice.  And all of this was against a backdrop of the bluest sky we’ve seen in weeks.

For the second day in a row, we woke early and made breakfast.  Today we had omelets and Ezekiel toast.  DSC01121 

 

Larry had a three egg omelet with spinach and mozzarella.  He also ate the leftover steak from last night’s dinner.

 

 

DSC01122  

I had an egg white omelet with spinach, mozzarella and a fair amount of freshly cracked pepper.  Oh, and two warm Morning Star sausage links. 

 

 

After eating breakfast, we went straight to the gym.  We rode silently down the road in amazement.  I could not stop staring out the window admiring the snow dusted woods along the highway. 

  (Source)

I don’t think we even realized that we hadn’t spoken a single word during the entire trip until we pulled into the gym’s parking lot.    

But once we were there, we got right to business.  I love working out at the gym on Sunday mornings.  There is never a huge crowd, and we usually don’t have major plans on Sundays, so there is no need to rush.

Here’s our workout from today.  As you can tell we focused on shoulders and traps.

Followed by a 35 Minutes Walk/Run on Treadmill:

  • 5 minutes walking at incline 10% and 3.5 mph,
  • 5 minutes running at 0% incline and 6.0 mph,
  • 5 minutes walking at 15% incline and 3.5 mph,
  • 5 minutes running at 0% incline and 6.2 mph,
  • 5 minutes walking at 15% incline and 3.5 mph,
  • 5 minutes running at 0% incline and 6.5-7.5 mph,
  • 5 minutes walking at 15% incline and 3.5 mph,
  • 5 minute treadmill programmed cool down

We felt great after that intense workout!  We went home and the first thing I did was refuel!

I mixed leftover salad from last night with a few leftover baked tofu cubes and a smidge of Annie’s Goddess Dressing.  It was a fantastic combination!

DSC01123I then made a little dessert snack to go with it. 

DSC01124

     1/4 cup low fat cottage cheese

+ 1/4 cup granola

+  sprinkle of cinnamon

= yummity-yum-yum!

I will definitely remember this for the future!

I felt pretty exhausted after our intense workout, so after I showered up, put on my cozy fleece pants, and blow dried my hair (for the first time in a week!), I curled up on the couch and continued reading Percy Jackson.  What can I say?  Children’s Literature is my forte! ;)

After a few hours of lounging on the couch, I did get up to make some super bowl snacks for our fantastically fabulous Super Bowl Party of 2 (plus 2 dogs!).  None of which was healthy ;)

DSC01127

 

Baked Mushroom Poppers with a rosemary sour cream sauce, spinach dip, a sausage, cream cheese, and rotel tomato dip, and multi-grain corn chips.

Everything in moderation my friends.  Everything in moderation!

What is your favorite thing to do on a Sunday?   

And don’t forget!  It’s not too late to vote on your favorite Bridesmaid Dress for Beth’s Wedding!

~Jen

magnolia Remember, Be Happy, Be Healthy, Be You!!!

2 Comments

Filed under exercise, recipes, work outs

2 responses to “Snow, Sweat, and SUPER BOWL

  1. I want to come to your house for breakfast! I like the eggs with spinach and mozzarella. I will be having that this weekend. I am going to subscribe to your blog because I like the information you have on here. I am diabetic and am signed up with some other sites, but I like your site, too. Have a blessed day!

    P.S. I’ll be working on the exercise.

Leave a Reply

