Not Your Normal Arts and Crafts

Today I did something I have NEVER done before in my entire life.  (Well, not that I remember anyway.  I may have done this as a very small child.)

For the fifth official snow day of 2010, I had an Arts and Crafts Day (Source)

No, not the type with cotton balls, popsicle sticks, and fuzzy balls.  (Although, that may have been just as fun!)

 

I did…. 

wait for it…

 

Scrapbooking! 

Over the past two years, my sister-in-law and mother-in-law have given me various scrapbooking supplies. 

I have a nifty bag,DSC01140

 cool pens,DSC01142

super sharp scissors,  DSC01143

 

 

 

 

a photo cutter,            DSC01141

 

stickers, and more!  DSC01144

I even have a cool computer program that allows you to play with cool fonts for journaling and labels.

However, (confession time!) I have only scrapbooked onceEmbarrassed  I did three mediocre pages masterpieces, and messed up one (I glued it on the wrong side of the paper, so now it faces in the wrong direction). 

I have a fear of not being good enough. 

I have seen some pretty awesome scrapbooks in my life.  My sister-in-law, for one, does an AMAZING job!  She meticulously crafts the perfect pages to capture memories of everything from napping with dogs to weddings.  My friend, Ashley, creates true masterpieces full of color and energy.  And my mom’s friend, Dawn, well she could put us all to shame. 

On occasion,  I’ve pulled out the supplies and played around with pages, but I was afraid to make anything permanent.  My pages couldn’t possibly turn out well, and what if I cut the picture and totally messed it up, losing a piece of the memory it captured. 

Today I decided to push away all of that fear and anxiety, and JUST DO IT!

And you know what?  It was fun.  It was relaxing.  And it was exhilarating! 

For two complete hours today I was totally focused.  I was quiet.  And I had no emphatic thoughts racing through my mind.  My mind was simply calm.

On her post today, Caitlin, of Healthy Tipping Point, posted a Reader’s Question.  This reader was feeling  insecure about trying new activities at the gym, and wanted to know how Caitlin managed to keep a positive attitude as she was learning to live a healthier and more active lifestyle. 

When I read this post I related it to the way I used to feel (and occasionally still do) when lifting weights alone at the gym.  It took me a while to learn that everyone was not looking at me, and that they were not judging me.  The more I lifted on my own, the better I got, and the more confident I felt.

While reading this post did not cause me to pull out my scrapbooking supplies and get crafting (I randomly did this on my own), I can now reflect on how these two scenarios are remarkably relevant. 

I was afraid to scrapbook because I was afraid that people would look at what I had done and judge me.  Just as I was afraid, at first, to share this blog with friends, family, and the public. 

However, how can we ever get better at something, or become confident with our abilities, if we do not step out of comfort zone and give it a try.

My scrapbook pages today weren’t perfect.  I’m sure there are a ka-zillion and one ways I could have made the pages more colorful and creative.  But they are a true reflection of my own style, and of my own capabilities at this time.  It may take weeks, months, or even years for me to feel confident as a true “scrapbooker.”  But hey, I’m still in the learning process! 

Is there something you have been wanting to try, but are worried about stepping out of your comfort zone?

This revelation leads very well into the topic for my next post.  Check back later for more!

And just to get you thinking, here’s a thought to ponder:

DSC01147

~Jen

magnolia Remember, Be Happy, Be Healthy, Be You!!!

1 Comment

Filed under mood, motivation

One response to “Not Your Normal Arts and Crafts

  1. Pingback: The Magic Bottle « Happy Heart, Happy Mind

Leave a Reply

