The Magic Bottle

“I wish there was some way to magically bottle up the rest, energy, and calm I experience during breaks, and spread it out over the workweek.”

(Link)

I’ve only had to work 1/2 a day since Friday, February 5th.  Huge snowstorms have kept me snowed in, warm and cozy by the fire.

(Source)

It’ll be nice to get back into a normal routine, but I have to admit this long “snow break” has been wonderful.  I’ve been able to work out every day, clean the house sporadically as needed, read quietly by the fire, and I have even found some time to do arts and crafts

Last Thursday, I began thinking about devising a plan to help me magically bottle up this feeling of rest, energy, and calm for the workweek. 

There is actually no magic to it.  Just simple common sense, science, and good ole fashion will power. 

I’ve decided to take it slow and work on one piece of the puzzle at a time.  My goal for this week is rest.

(Source)

I have the hardest time falling asleep at night.  I toss and turn, and my mind races about a million miles an hour.  I think about all of the things I have to do, all of the things I didn’t get to that I should have, what I’m going to wear the next day, all of the mistakes I’ve made over the past 28 years, etc., etc., etc……. 

It is a serious problem.      

I feel that until I tackle this problem I will never be able to achieve the other two.  It is impossible to feel full of energy if you have not rested well.  You can not feel calm if you are dragging yourself around trying to accomplish the day’s tasks.

So, here is the plan:

  1. 1.  Begin my night time routine no later than 9:30 PM.
  2. Each night I do the usual get-ready-for-bed routine.  I wash my face, moisturize, take out my contacts, brush my teeth, make Sleepy Time Tea, etc.  But I do not always do this at the same time every night. 
  3.  

Hopefully, this new, scheduled routine will let my body know that it is time to wind down.

(Source)

  1.  
  2. 2.  Turn the TV off no later than 10:30 PM every single night.
  3. This is seriously one of the worst habits that I have developed since college.  Because night time seems to be when my thoughts are most active and uncontrollable, I have taken to falling asleep watching TV.  If I am listening to a show, I am less likely to be driving myself crazy with mental to-dos. 
  4.  
  5. However, this has created quite a different effect.  It does calm my mind, but I often end up staying up late listening to TV!     

  (Source)

3.  If I wake in the middle of the night, I will acknowledge my thoughts by writing them down.  If I find that I am still awake after 30 minutes, I will read until I feel that I am unable to keep my eyes open.

Enough said :)

This list is short and sweet for the time being.  I’m sure I’ll face further obstacles in this quest for better rest, but I’ll handle them as they come.  This week I plan on chronicling my journal for a more restful night.  

By getting enough rest, I feel I will more easily be able to attain my second and third goal: increased energy and a stronger sense of calm. 

Do you have trouble falling asleep at night?  What do you do when you are having difficulties? 

  1. ~Jen

    magnolia Remember, Be Happy, Be Healthy, Be You!!!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “The Magic Bottle

  1. Pingback: Back to the Grind- Take 2 « Happy Heart, Happy Mind

Leave a Reply

