Butternut Squash Cass-o-rolled on the Floor

For Christmas, the wonderful, amazing, and thoughtful instructional assistant I work with gave me Clean Cooking by Terry Walters.  I have absolutely loved trying out the healthy and “clean” recipes from this book.  They are simple, have only a few ingredients, and taste delicioso!

 Tonight I had a plan.

I was going to make the Butternut Squash Casserole recipe from this book for dinner and make a side of chicken for Larry. 

But we all know about those best laid plans.

Have you EVER peeled and sliced a Butternut Squash?  I kept my squash in the fridge until I was ready to cook it, and it was H-A-R-D, HARD!  I couldn’t keep a hold of it, and although it didn’t roll on the floor as implied by the title, it very easily could have if I had lost my death grip on that sucker! 

 Perhaps you are supposed to take it out of the fridge a while before you cook it?  Or did I just pick a hard squash?  Lesson learned?

 I had to google “how to peel a butternut squash” and this is what I found .  Very helpful video, but their squash cut way easier than mine!

 Here’s the recipe that I’ve adapted from the cookbook.  Remember to leave the squash out for a while before you chop it up. 

 Ingredients:

  • 1 small butternut squash, peeled, halved, seeded and thinly sliced
  • 1 small red onion, thinly sliced (sweet Vidalia for me!)
  • 1/3 cup apple cider or juice (I used pomegranate juice since I was out of apple.)
  • 2 tablespoons grapeseed oil
  • 2 tablespoons maple syrup (Log Cabin was in the cabinet, so it is what I used.)
  • ¼ cup toasted almonds (Nope.  We used walnuts.)

 Preheat oven to 350°F.

 Combine squash and onion in a 9×12-inch casserole.  In small bowl, whisk together juice, oil and syrup.  Pour over squash, top with nuts, cover with foil and bake for 45 minutes until tender.

For the meat eaters:

I whisked together another batch of the liquid ingredients from the squash as a marinade for the chicken. I actually didn’t have a lot of time to marinade it properly, so I just poured it over the chicken and baked it on 350 F alongside the casserole. 

I’m going to serve this with a small salad of fresh organic spinach, some sliced cucumber, and a heaping spoonful of cottage cheese! (I know.  I know.  Cottage cheese.  Yuck!  But I heart cottage cheese!  It’s a bit like ranch/blue cheese without all of the extra fat and calories!  Yumm-o!). 

 Dessert may be a handful of Ghirardelli chocolate chips! 

 Have an awesome night!  And thanks for reading my second post!   

Do you know a trick for picking and storing butternut squash? 

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Butternut Squash Cass-o-rolled on the Floor

  1. Jamie

    Love it! Can’t wait to read more of your blogging!

  2. Kim

    I love reading your blog, where do you find the time! I too am a foodie (I collect recipe books the way some people collect money! LOL). We’ll have to swap recipes sometime. I have a tough time peeling butternut squash as well. Peel with a peeler before you do any cutting. I’ve found cutting makes it immediately slippery. Sometimes I’ll cut the larger bottom off after I’ve peeled to make halves that are easier to manage. I love butternut squash roasted with salt and pepper in a 450-500 degree F oven, then drizzle with honey! Yum!!!

    • That sounds delish!! (Yes! I just said delish… geesh!)

      I’m so glad that you have enjoyed reading the blog! I made a New Years Resolution to write more, and this was the easiest solution for me! I make myself sit down once a day to write, and I keep a handwritten list of ideas as they come to me. Once you get started, it is easy… and fun! Maybe you could guest blog for me one day!

Leave a Reply

