Back to the Grind… Or Is It?

Today it was somewhat back to the grind for me.  After having three complete days off of work for snow, I finally had to get my tushie out of bed, dressed, fed, and out the door to go to work by 8. 

I know what you’re thinking.  Awww…  8 AM!  You poor baby ;) 

What can I say?  Two-hour delays are awesome!   

Apparently, we could be in for another snow day of some type tomorrow.  As much as I love a snow day, I would seriously love to get back into some kind of routine.  When am I going to teach these kids cursive and multiplication?!?!?

After having such an impromptu break, I would like to discuss work and how it affects my mood.  I don’t know about you, but when I am not working, I have way more energy, way more patience, and I feel so much happier in general. 

Don’t get me wrong.  I love what I do for a living.  I can’t imagine any other profession in the world I would rather have.  Teaching is definitely my “calling.” 

But what gives?  How can I love what I do so much, and still have it drain so much from me?

I wish there was some way to magically bottle up the rest, energy, and calm I experience during breaks, and spread it out over the workweek.

In honor of my New  Years Resolution to be more proactive,  I’ve decided to think about what it is that actually helps me to achieve those feelings of rest, energy, and calm when not working, and see how I can “bottle it up” to use throughout the week.

It is one thing to think about what I can do to make improvements in my life.  It is quite another to actually devise a plan to help me attain those goals. 

For the next couple of days, I will seriously contemplate what actions give me these particularly positive feelings.  I will then try to incorporate these actions into my weekly routine to help me achieve feelings of restfulness, increased energy, and calm all week long. 

What helps you to feel adequately rested, full of energy, and calm during a workweek?  What simple changes could you make to increase these feelings?  This is our life ladies and gentlemen.  It is what we make it 🙂

My first goal for feeling rested is simple.  I need to get this tired tushie into bed way earlier! 

So long, farewell, my friends!  Until tomorrow!   

I’ve always wanted to make such a grand departure! 😉

~Jen

magnolia Remember, Be Happy, Be Healthy, Be You!!!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Back to the Grind… Or Is It?

  1. Happy Friday! It’s so awesome that you love your job! What a fantastic feeling. 🙂

    I am in a bit of a funk with my day job right now (i.e. I hate it), so it drains A LOT of energy from me. In order to stay happy & sane, I have to fill my personal time with people & activities that I love. This means lots of quality time with my boyfriend, my girl friends, and my family. I also love to cook, bake, read, run/do pilates & yoga, and even watch funny/mindless television. I’d like to be able to say that the only things I watch on TV are PBS & other “smart people” programming ;-), but alas, I love my guilty pleasures like “Real Housewives” on Bravo, along with “It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia” & dumb crap on E! Haha.

    • Thanks, Jessica! You’re right. I do feel so much better when I get to just hang out with my husband, family and friends. I think we sometimes put too much of ourselves into work, and forget that it is only one small piece.
      Hahaha! My guilty pleasure is watching endless reruns of the Gilmore Girls 😉

  2. Kim

    I think getting up when my body’s ready rather than getting up when the alarm goes off helps tremendously. Also getting to eat when I’m hungry (not when it’s “lunch time”) and getting to nap when I honestly feel tired rather than pushing to keep going, go to the gym after work and then run home to cook dinner – these are energy drainers for me. I’m glad to hear someone else loves their job as much as I do, but is also ALREADY looking forward to retirement. LOL

  3. Pingback: The Magic Bottle « Happy Heart, Happy Mind

Leave a Reply

